Vile Update: A Pause

Leave a comment

July 16, 2014 by David.Groveman

I’ve taken a break from writing for a little creative brainstorming.  A friend read the first draft and was left with a real criticism of the novel, I had not given him anyone to care about.  This did not mean the characters were too evil, but just that they weren’t human enough.  Finding the humanity of evil will be a truly devilish challenge, but I feel like I’m up to the task.

One of the real successes of the book, in his eyes, was the way the death of the Waif affected the Footpad (her brother).  It humanizes him and might be capable of setting off a chain reaction of humanization throughout the story arc.

My friend pointed out that he found the same feature weak in the Game of Thrones series and that Martin was just as guilty of leaving the reader with nobody identifiable.  So… I need to find this humanity in everyone I can and make the reader care more before I dive too much further into things.

Leave a Reply

