Vile Update: I’m Killing the Pope Today

Leave a comment

July 10, 2014 by David.Groveman

It’s an interesting thing to say, but it is true.  The character is being released from his mortal prison and setting off a chain of events that will bring about the eventual climax of the novel.  It will also be the one and only appearance of the character of the Zealot.  It will be exciting to no longer be building threads but to begin weaving them.

In other news, I met with a writing group last night and had some great discussion about my work, even in general concepts.  I was asked a great question and I’ll share it here:

“Why did you choose to set this in a mostly real world and name, for instance, England and France?  Why not create a fantasy world with original names etc…”

My Answer:

“I wanted the pre-conceptions that surround certain things.  I also did not want the book to revolve around the creation of a world.  If I place a Queen on the English throne, 9 out of 10 people will see Queen Elizabeth, even if I never name her as such.  If I was building this as a new world I’d need to spend 10,000 words on establishing kingdoms, religions and cultural realities.  Setting this in the vague world of Medieval Europe allows me to take liberties but also start with a general understanding between myself and the reader of what the world is like.”

The jury is still out on whether this is successful or if an audience will accept and enjoy a cast of villainous sociopaths.  I hope I’m right and that they will.

Leave a Reply

