Et Pour Vous

Leave a comment

February 27, 2014 by David.Groveman

The second play in the series takes place in occupied France in the same little bistro as La Touriste.  The play centers on Louis, a waiter, and Major Schneider, a clerk with the Nazi army with flashbacks to scenes with their respective wives.  The play asks, “What is it to be evil?”

 

Writing Sample:

Louis

The éclairs are done, Major.

 

Major Schneider

Oh … splendid. (Pause) Are they healthy?

 

Louis

Of course! They are French.

 

Major Schneider

(Ironically) Yah, the food here is so healthy, I’ll be dead before you know it.

 

Louis

A little cream and butter never hurt anyone… unless their belt gets too tight!

(Louis and Schneider both laugh deeply. Schneider stops laughing suddenly and becomes rather serious and upset.)

 

Major Schneider

My mother.

 

Louis

What about her?

 

Major Schneider

She died … heart attack, five or so years ago.

Louis

I am very sorry to hear that Major.

 

Major Schneider

Yah. We were very close, my mother and I. I would visit her often … we would go walking by the Danube. She was my best friend, you know? I told her everything. (Pause) I used to be an accountant, and my boss, Herr Guttman, left quite suddenly for America … so my mother told me to contact my father.

 

Louis

You mean they didn’t live together?

 

Major Schneider

Oh they did … when he was around. War heroes must travel you know.

 

Louis

War hero? Why do you call him that?

 

Major Schneider

That’s all he was to me. (Pause) So I contacted him, and he got me a post as a Lieutenant in Nymphenburg palace.

 

Louis

(With bitterness) So you commanded troops?

 

Major Schneider

No, Louis, I commanded numbers. (Pause) I joined the army … to stay an accountant.

 

Louis

So have you ever killed a man?

 

Major Schneider

Heavens no … I can barely stand to hold a Luger.

 

Louis

Ever ordered a death?

 

Major Schneider

No, only ordered the affairs of budget. (Pause) I am a desk major. I was promoted for finding missing resources.

 

Leave a Reply

